Quiz. How Y’all, Youse and You Guys Talk.

Posted on

I am so interested in the way people talk, and how it is different in even parts of the same country. The NY Times “How Y’all, Youse and You Guys Talk” quiz gives a list of questions about how you pronounce words and what you call different things. What is so cool is that after each question, it shows you how similar your answer was to parts of the U.S. with a handy colored map. Then, when you’re finished with the quiz, it gives a personal dialect map. Interesting right? Looks like I talk most like people from Oklahoma City, Lexington, and Chattanooga and least like people from New York.

Map

Check it out and let me know your results!

P.S. Did you know that George Mason University has a Speech Accent Archive? You can submit a sample and listen to samples from all sorts of regions. Pretty cool!

Linking up with Because Shanna Said So.

2 thoughts on “Quiz. How Y’all, Youse and You Guys Talk.

    Andrea said:
    January 22, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    I found this so fascinating too! It was really accurate for me and had Toledo (really close to where I grew up) in my top three. I wrote about my results on my blog – http://andreaslens.com/2013/12/26/how-we-talk/

      mlpull responded:
      January 22, 2014 at 5:35 pm

      How crazy! I wasn’t near one of the cities, but I did grow up in the red area so I guess that makes it accurate. Did you know there were so many names for things like tennis shoes? I definitely didn’t.

Leave a Reply

