Movie Loves – Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, and Before Midnight.

Posted on

Have you seen Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, or Before Midnight?

I watched Before Midnight, the last of the three made, last week. I had to get my hands on the first two and at that point, I figured I might as well work my way backward. Actually, I’m kind of glad it worked out that way.

before sunrise
Before Sunrise.

The movies star Ethan Hawke and Julia Delpy. The trilogy begins when characters Jesse and Celine meet on a train traveling from Budapest in Before Sunrise. In Before Sunset, nine years later, the pair spend an afternoon roaming Paris and nine years later, still, in Before Midnight, they hold the tension of an older couple and spend the day in Greece.

All three are made up of essentially only dialogue between the two and take place over the course of a day. It enthralling to watch the two’s relationship evolve as they talk about life and relationships and a bit of everything in between. It almost feels like you are eavesdropping into a private conversation.

before sunset
Before Sunrise.

Filling in the time gaps makes each sequential movie so captivating (or for me, finding out where comments and things from the latter movies come from). Because of my age, I definitely think that I relate most with Before Sunrise, but all three movies feel so real that I think everyone can relate. Might even be good Valentine’s Day movies, if you will.

Do you ever watch a movie and then are so into the mindset of the movie that it’s hard to imagine liking others right then? Am I making any sense? Anyways, that’s how I felt about these, so I was so glad to have three. Now, I kind of want to watch them again “in order.”

before midnight
Before Midnight.

So, tell me, are there any movies I just have to watch? Have you seen any good one’s lately?

Hugs,

Megan

Leave a Reply

