The Granola Diaries. Lime and Coconut.

Posted on

“She put de lime in de coconut; she drank dem both up.” I’ve officially had that line stuck in my head for a week, but it’s okay because this granola is the reason.

I probably make granola every week or two, and I figured I should start documenting the recipes I like on here. I bought a new container of oats and I’m ready to go!

granola 1

My town has definitely not been immune to the series of snowpocalypses all over the U.S. I don’t know about you, but I’m dreaming of warmer weather and lying on a beach somewhere tropical. I might not be headed to Hawaii anytime soon, so I used tropical flavors in my most recent granola expedition – and I am so glad I did. If you like the lime-coconut flavor combo, this is definitely for you (obviously). It is not too sweet, a little tart, and extra great with some greek yogurt, banana, and mango for breakfast, just so you know.

 granola 2

2 cups oats

1/2 cup shredded coconut

A dash of salt

1/4 cup honey

1 tablespoon coconut oil

Juice and zest from half a lime, or the whole thing if you loveeeee lime

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Combine oats, coconut, and salt in a large bowl. Combine honey, coconut butter, lime juice, and zest in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave for about 30 seconds, until coconut butter is melted. evenly combine the two mixtures and spread onto a rimmed baking sheet. Bake for about 20 minutes, until just golden, stirring every 5 minutes or so, so that the granola bakes evenly. Cool to room temperature, then store in an airtight container and join me in the Hawaii delusion.

Do you branch out into flavored granolas? Any suggestions?

Hugs,

Megan

Leave a Reply

