Weekend Recap.

Posted on

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve done a weekend recap. This weekend I spent a super fun weekend visiting the boyfriend in Virginia. I don’t see Michael even close to often enough so I jumped at the chance for the time together!

megan michael

Thursday night I made my way down to Blacksburg. Always glad for good driving weather. Not to mention, three day weekends are the best! Friday, we started the day with a lovely morning walk and ended with dinner at Bull and Bones. I love visiting local breweries and was very impressed with Bull and Bones’ beer sampler. I also of course had to rep West Virginia – The Best Virginia!

alcohol

It ended up raining Saturday, but we took advantage when it let up for a little bit to go to the shooting range (Can we ignore that I look like a wet dog in a big jacket?). I had never touched a gun before, let alone shot one so it was pretty cool for me. Not to toot my own horn, but I did hit my very first clay. It is a lot more fun when you’re hitting targets, I’ll tell you that. Another first was going to my first wine tasting. It sounds like all we did was drink but I promise it’s not! Michael actually takes a school course on wine, so he’s taught me some about tasting.

shooting

The rest of the weekend’s gaps were filled with simple things like grocery shopping, lounging, watching videos, and cooking. These little things are the best to get to do together when you’re in a LDR (long distance relationship) though. I have to be honest, the last few years living 250 miles apart has not always been fun, but I’m a lucky girl.

ah

We did finally watched American Hustle. I am still trying to make my way through the Oscar’s Best Picture nominees (Her and Dallas Buyers Club are up next). I  had heard American Hustle was slow, but I enjoyed it. It probably helps that we watched it split over two days.

I ended the weekend back in Morgantown with some Italian food, homework, and planning the week. All in all, a great few days.

Tell me, what did you get up to this weekend? Do you have a favorite Oscar-nominated movie?

Hugs,

Megan

Leave a Reply

