Paper Flower Picture Frame.

Posted on Updated on

finished product

Some people collect Beanie Babies or sports equipment. Me? I collect craft supplies (and nail polish but that’s a whole other post). You never know when you are going to need glitter or scrapbook paper, right?

On a related note, I was just somehow lead to “compulsive hoarding” on Wikipedia and found out a symptom of hoarding is holding onto a large number of items that most people would consider not useful or valuable, like “things that might be useful for making crafts.” Great. So, this is my life. Moving on…

It had been a while since I had dug into my craft stash, and I’ve been itching to do something creative. I found this picture frame that needed sprucing up hidden in a draw and realized it would be the perfect spring craft, which would be a perfect #BloggersDoSpringBetter post (read more about that below). Don’t you just love when the stars align?

I have obviously been all about flowers this spring and these 3D tissue paper flowers are no exception. Cue, Miranda Preistly…

I really do absolutely love how this turned out. There is something so fresh about dainty paper flowers grouped together. Did I sound like a real DIY blogger there? Don’t let words like “fresh” and dainty” fool you. The steps are really easy for this. It just takes  a little bit of time to make the flowers.

supplies

First, gather supplies. You will need a picture frame to actually decorate (this is from Michaels I do believe), glue (a basic glue stick ended up being easier to work with than liquid glue, but either works), string, scissors, something sharp (like a pen or paper clip) and tissue paper in many colors.

petals

Start by making a bunch of little tissue paper flowers. This tutorial explains it really well, and I’m not going to try to do a better job. The only changes I made were that I used a paper clip to punch holes for the string since I was cutting smaller petals and I made various colors, sizes, and petal shapes. You can go ahead and trim off the string close to the knot.

flowers 2

flowers 1

Once you have a good stockpile, you can start gluing the flowers to the picture frame. There is no real rhyme or reason. Just place a lot of glue in one area, and then add the premade flowers.

flower crafting

That is seriously all! Add a photo and you are good to go! What do you think?

Hugs,

Megan

Touch Of Belle

I’ve started a new blogging challenge with Gemma with Touch of Belle! The challenge is to do a post every two weeks based on a particular topic. This week’s topic was Bloggers do Spring Better! If you would like to join along with the challenge, e-mail Gemma at touchofbelle@gmail.com or comment here. I am so excited to see everyone’s posts today.

9 thoughts on “Paper Flower Picture Frame.

    Gemma said:
    April 7, 2014 at 8:03 am

    I love this idea! Its really simple yet effective! I have a widget on my post so you can add your link! I’m loving seeing everyone’s post and how each one is different!

    Gemma xxx
    http://touchofbelle.blogspot.co.uk/2014/04/bloggersdoitbetter-spring-memory.html

      mlpull responded:
      April 7, 2014 at 10:55 am

      Glad you liked it! I’ve linked up. Loving everyone’s posts. Thanks for stopping by!

    Andreea P. said:
    April 7, 2014 at 8:06 am

    This is such a lovely idea. It could be a perfect Easter gift for friends too!
    http://catsfika.blogspot.ro

      mlpull responded:
      April 7, 2014 at 10:56 am

      Thank you : ) That is such a good idea!

    Ruth said:
    April 9, 2014 at 5:37 am

    You have to love this idea, it’s so simple! I’m going to make the flowers and decorate the door frames with them for Easter!! :))

      mlpull responded:
      April 10, 2014 at 11:24 am

      It is so easy but looks super cute! Decorating door frames would be so fun! Let me know if you post about it – I’d love to see.

    Olivia said:
    April 9, 2014 at 11:42 pm

    A really nice simple idea! I love it 🙂 Also, I really like how the flowers turn out… I may not use it for a picture frame, but I do have a great way of making flowers for other crafts too! It was nice to meet you and your blog, and looking forwards to your other challenge posts ^.^

    Check out my version of this topic:http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2014/04/spring-bucket-list-bloggers-do-it.html

      mlpull responded:
      April 10, 2014 at 11:34 am

      Thank you 🙂 Love the bucket list idea!

    altitudedesignindia2014 said:
    April 25, 2014 at 9:52 am

    Wow Really great idea!i love it also,i really like your post with amazing photo.This type of best picture framing supplies in Canada available with Diyframed .Thank you for this valuable post.

Leave a Reply

